Response – S.O.S / Control [Ingredients]

19 08 2014

Ingredients return with another excellent 12″ from up and coming Manchester producer Response. S.O.S. brings old school techstep vibes with up to the minute production techniques, combining rolling breaks, throbbing sub and ominous synth stabs for a Tech Itch style workout.

Control is the real star of the show here though, and is one of the most interesting tunes to have graced the Dojo inbox in recent times. A crisp 2-step beat provide the backbone of the tune, over which we’re treated to big sweeping synths, a melancholy lead melody and a repetitive, dystopian mantra about computers and their control on our society. You can hear all sorts of musical influences being melted down into this one, and the vibe is impressively creepy.

Check out the clips below and watch out for this one dropping on vinyl and digital September 8th.

Submorphics – Long Been Gone / Rosewood [SGN:Ltd]

18 08 2014

Shogun’s SGN:Ltd sister imprint return for their 41st release with two crisp liquid rollers from San Francisco’s Submorphics. Both tracks feature soft, rolling breaks and cheerful, melodic elements which achieve a summery warmth without descending into cheesy hands in the air territory. Fans of Random Movements, Makoto and DJ Marky should definitely give this one a look.

Check out the clips below and watch out for the release dropping at digital stores from August 31st, with vinyl to follow on September 15th.

Impak – The Hum EP [NeurofunkGrid]

17 08 2014

What better way to kick off your Sunday than with a free download from NeurofunkGrid? Impak returns to the label for his second NFG release with two new cuts that are sure to be working dancefloors over the next few months. The Hum hits down with a tight, rolling groove and a catchy lead melody; while there’s weighty sub to the mix this is definitely a masterpiece of clean engineering.

Over on the flip Medula aims for scuzzier territory; atmospheric pads and piano on the intro give way to an impressive array of warping mid-range sounds that fans of Aeph and other purveyors of the futuristic neurofunk sound will definitely enjoy. A half-time breakdown in the second half gives the tune variety, and the sound design alone is worth a listen.

As usual you can grab the EP from the NeurofunkGrid Facebook page where you can also find all the label’s previous releases. Check out the clips below and grab it now!

Hyroglifics – Terra [Dispatch LTD]

16 08 2014

Fresh from his futuristic bass excursions for Critical’s new Binary imprint, Hyroglifics touches down on Dispatch as part of the latest release in their LTD series. Terra is all about the bass textures, with ominous pads and a solid techstep backbeat providing the framework for a hefty bass growl, powering the tune along with tons of sizzle.

Tize sees Hyroglifics teaming up with Kolectiv for another slice of dark, atmospheric tech business; this time the emphasis is definitely more on the beats with the tune rolling along to a fearsome kick/snare riddim punctuated by weighty sub and all manner of additional bassline stabs.

Last but by no means least, The Fear rounds off the release with another deep dark stepper. This time it’s a huge team at the controls as Kolectiv, Dexta, Maouq and Kyrist all get in on the act. Angular rhythms and more creepy pads are the order of the day here; one for the heads as much as the dancefloor, but weighty nonetheless. Check out the clips below and head over to the Dispatch Store where you can grab this now prior to full release on Monday.

Classic Track: Calibre – Silence

14 08 2014

Today’s classic track is a personal favourite from my vinyl collection, and an often overlooked gem from Calibre’s back catalogue. The B-side to the far more commonly heard Steptoe, Silence is a masterclass in the deep, rolling euphoria that Calibre is so well known for. Crisp breaks, warm bass and a simple but infectious set of chords combine to create an uplifting composition that works again and again. Check it out below and lose yourself in the melodies.

Q&A – Auzi [Terabyte Records]

13 08 2014

Terabyte Records have been moving from strength to strength since their inception two years ago, with support coming from some big names in the scene and some excellent tunes gracing their catalogue. The latest release is no different, and sees the label revisiting their previous tunes for some new remixes from a host of artists old and new. We caught up with Terabyte co-founder Auzi for his thoughts on the release and the label’s ethos.

Read the rest of this entry »

Betafuture – Void EP [Free Download]

12 08 2014

The latest freebie to grace the Dojo inbox comes from Spanish duo Betafuture. Recently relocated to Bulgaria, the pair have just released their latest work in the form of the Void EP, featuring four tracks of crisp, atmospheric liquid D&B. Morning Sun brings a cheerful vibe with rolling breaks and soft, melodic synths. Breathless takes the energy down a little, focussing on bass texture while retaining atmospheric elements.

Sonder meanwhile brings in natural bass guitar and distinctive high frequency synths over another crisp set of breakbeats. Finally Distance drops the tempo for a more chilled out, melancholy slice of piano-led electronica. Check out the clips below, buy the release on iTunes, or just grab it for free here.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers