Critical Impact & Jakes – The Illa [Clear Skyz]

31 10 2013

Bristol producer Critical Impact teams up with the legendary MC Jakes to turn in one of the best MC led tunes the D&B scene has heard in some time. With an insistent steppers break, a grimey bassline and the smooth, laidback flows of Jakes laid over the top this is a sure fire winner; real hip-hop vibes. Watch out for this one coming out on Die’s Clear Skyz imprint from 28th October (4th Nov for the vinyl).


Akov – Construct EP [NeurofunkGrid]

30 10 2013

NeurofunkGrid continue their convincing crusade to prove that free music can knock the socks off anything you paid money for with another top notch EP, this time from Akov. Construct kicks things off nicely with chunky beats, warped bass and a great switchup into drumstep rhythm halfway through the tune.

Negative Space dials things back a bit and heads for deep, growling territory with intricate, angular beats characterising the tune and the atmospherics and vocal samples lending the tune hints of IDM and Dub. Finally Rubix heads for heavy hitting neuro territory once again, but only after lulling us into a false sense of security with a funky intro and a catchy vocal hook.

Check out the beats below and head over to the NFG Facebook page for a free download!

Habitat – Can They Hear Me / Holdin’ It Down [E-Motion]

29 10 2013

E-Motion have been going from strength to strength lately and their latest release from Habitat showcases the labels versatility with a pair of modern Jungle-tinged rollers. Can They Hear Me weighs in with heavy sub weight and dark vibes while Holdin’ It Down adds a hint of jazz to the mix with a more dancefloor oriented happy smasher.

With support from the likes of Ray Keith and Aries, jungle heads should definitely keep an eye on Habitat. Check out the beats below and grab the release from your favourite digital outlet now!

Nickbee – Animal Rage EP [Eatbrain]

28 10 2013

Jade’s Eatbrain imprint continues the assault on your ears with another EP of fresh neurofunk beats, this time from Ukrainian beatsmith Nickbee. Apollo 18 kicks things off with a heavy hitting roller; tasty sci-fi atmospherics on the intro give way to squelching bass action and hard snares, with a few echoing chord stabs thrown in for good measure. The titular Animal Rage builds suspense on a long intro with swelling pads, cymbals and strings all adding to the tension before a growling bass drop kicks things into gear.

Gain The Energy delivers more techie sci-fi business with a hypnotic lead that fans of Black Sun Empire are sure to love, before Nickbee throws us a curveball on Blackline, dropping the tempo down to 130 for a nice chunky breakbeat track with more teeth than the average. Neurobreaks? Whatever, it’s awesome. Check out the beats below and grab a copy on vinyl or digital now!

As if the hefty release wasn’t enough, Nickbee has also put together a slamming mix for episode 10 of the Eatbrain podcast. Check it out and grab a free download below.

Thrashpilot – Galaxian / One Armed Man [Killscreen]

27 10 2013

Thrashpilot’s weird and wonderful assault on the 170BPM realm continues with the appropriately named Galaxian; an other-worldly, acid-techno infused slice of frenetic, wonky electronica that bears resemblance to most D&B only by virtue of heavy kicks and snares and a similar tempo. This one is hypnotic and hard hitting in equal measure.

Over on the flip One Armed Man heads back for traditional breaks but throws standard song structure out of the window as the eclectic producer takes us on a 10 minute epic journey that takes in a variety of different breaks and atmospheres, all with a distinctly dubby vibe.

Check out the clips below and watch out for the release at all good digital outlets from November 5th.

Digital & Spirit – Original Rockers / Redo [Phantom Audio]

26 10 2013

The return of Digital & Spirit’s much revered Phantom Audio imprint earlier this year was met with much enthusiasm, especially given the top notch Fracture re-work of Phantom Force that sat on the A-side. Now the duo return with their first original material for the label in nearly a decade.

Original Rockers sets the tone with a huge slice of footwork infused half-step. Madcap syncopation and an infectious vocal sample sit over a weighty, dub style sub line on a tune that will doubtless be rocking dancefloors over the next few months.  Over on the flip Redo heads straight for full pelt dark jungle territory, skittering breaks on the intro giving way to a crisp, rolling beat and a classic reese in the main verse.

Check out the beats below and watch out for the release on vinyl and digital from November 4th.

Black Sun Empire – Variations on Black [Blackout]

25 10 2013

Black Sun Empire return with yet another essential release for neurofunk fans everywhere as they open up their back catalogue for remixes from a selection of the biggest names in the scene. Among the best released so far are Noisia’s epic rework of Arrakis, State of Mind’s rolling rework of Don’t You and Chris.SU’s typically heavy hitting yet melodic rework of Fever. There are many more yet unheard tracks so keep an eye on soundcloud and youtube over the coming weeks rolling up to the release on November 18th.


In addition BSE have teamed up with Beatport to allow folks the chance to win a bunch of Novation gear and a spot on the album by remixing their classic Noisia collaboration Hideous. Head on over to Beatport for the details and get to work!