Outlook 2015 Lineup – 1st Announcement!

18 02 2015

Those with their fingers on the pulse will already be aware of this, but for anyone who missed it the first lineup announcement for Outlook 2015 is out! D&B fans certainly won’t be disappointed with the selection; Noisia, Goldie, dBridge, Om Unit, The Upbeats, Enei. Skeptical, Rockwell, Mefjus, Kasta, Ivy Lab & Emperor are already on the bill alongside some of the best names in Dubstep, Grime and Hip-hop with plenty more yet to be announced.

As usual tickets are flying off the shelves so check out the official lineup announcement video below and head over here to pick up tickets while you still can!

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jeYFrb59WoU]

Om Unit – Inversion [Metalheadz]

12 11 2014

Om Unit is a name that we just can’t get enough of over here at the Dojo and his latest work for Metalheadz could well be his best yet. Apparently Goldie himself went digging in the vaults and handed over some DATs as sample material for these tracks, and the EP definitely carries an old school ‘headz feel, combined with Om Unit’s future-jungle stylings.

You can check out a minimix of the tracks below; head to the Metalheadz store to pre-order the release on vinyl or digital now, and look out for release from Nov 17th.

Jungle War!

28 09 2014

Anyone who keeps an eye on the Grime scene (or indeed, just the likes of FACT magazine) will probably be familiar with last years War Dubs contest. Over the last few days a new war has begun, but this time it’s Jungle producers clashing over Soundcloud; amens at the ready then! What started as Epoch calling out Sully and Etch has rapidly escalated into a massive clash with the likes of Om Unit, Fre4knc, Moresounds, Amoss, Dexta and many more. You can hear a few of the Dojo favourites below, and if you’re keen to hear more head over to Soundcloud where you can find well over 300 jungle war dubs! All credit to DSZ intel for compiling the playlist.

20/20 LDN – Om Unit, Deft, Hannah Faith & Ivy Lab

17 05 2014

Good news for fans of the experimental 170 sound in our nation’s capital – Ivy Lab are starting up their own club night! Entitled 20/20 LDN, the new night aims to showcase “the emerging  landscape of fusions between Drum and Bass, Hip Hop, Footwork, and Future-Soul”. Not a bad aim methinks.

The first event on June 11th will feature sets from Om Unit, Hannah Faith and Deft (with support from Ivy Lab themselves). To celebrate, the team are giving away a series of free bootlegs, the first of which you can hear below as Sabre gives Jeru Da Damaja’s Come Clean a gritty halftime refix. Head over to the 20/20 LDN Facebook page for a free download of the track and check out the full event details here.

Jay 5ive & Kromestar – Wishful Thinking (Om Unit Remix) [Free Download

15 01 2014

Om Unit delivers us a late festive treat in the form of his remix of Jay 5ive & Kromestar’s Wishful Thinking. Much sought after since being featured on Om Unit’s XLR8R podcast back in 2011, the track features a deep half-step groove and massive, spacey synth leads, and is very reminiscent of the tracks on the Aeolian EP. Check out the beat below and head to Om Unit’s Bandcamp for a free download.

Kid Drama – In Mind EP [Exit Records]

15 11 2013

After the recent announcement of Heartdrive it seemed inevitable that we’d be hearing more 170BPM productions from Jon Convex under his Kid Drama alias, and the new EP he’s prepped for dBridge’s ever forward-thinking Exit Records delivers more beautiful 170BPM explorations in the spirit of Autonomic.

In Mind kicks things of with lush, melody driven ambience and subtle but insistent beat patterns before What Do You See? switches the tone, opting for dark, throbbing bass and stark half-time drum rhythms.

The deep, dark vibes continue on Retract, which sees Convex teaming up with relatively unknown Australian producer Hands Like Crime to craft a tune that’s all in the detail of the percussion (and appears to make excellent use of a sampled dial tone). Finally the appropriately titled Grind sees him recruiting Om Unit to the studio for a grimey, evil sounding tune full of frantic half-time syncopation and spooky lead synth chords.

Check out the beats below and watch out for the release dropping on vinyl and digital from 18th November.

In The Mix…Fracture

7 10 2013

To celebrate yet another epic Star Warz event as the Exit Records crew touch down in Belgium, Fracture has compiled a promo mix packed full of tunes from the likes of dBridge, Commix, Om Unit and more. Fans of the deeper side of 170 will definitely enjoy this one – check it out below and grab a free download.