Kung – Devil’s Finger EP [Eatbrain]

31 10 2014

Jade’s Eatbrain continue their quest to bring us the biggest, baddest neurofunk in the game with four huge new tracks from Spanish producer Kung. Fans of the label’s output know what to expect here – precision engineered neuro tearers locked, loaded and primed for the dancefloor. Check out the clips below and watch out for the EP dropping on vinyl from November 3rd, with Beatport release following on November 10th and full worldwide digital release from November 24th.


Classic Track: Ink & Perpetuum – Jungle Book

30 10 2014


A mere five years old but still one of my favourite slabs of vinyl, Ink & Perpetuum’s Jungle Book harks back to a simpler time in D&B despite its relatively tender pedigree. A tough but loose break, weighty but relatively simple bass and an instantly recognisable stab sound make this a bit of a dancefloor weapon. Check it out below and grab a copy from your favourite digital outlet (or hunt down a vinyl copy on Discogs).

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2H8laA1N4V0]

Chroma – 201 Dub / Sovereign [ProgRAM]

29 10 2014

The latest single from ProgRAM sees production trio Chroma on fine form with two crisp new rollers. 201 Dub harnesses the spirit of Jamaican dub culture for a deep, subby roller imbued with warmth, weight and an impressive clarity on the breaks.

Sovereign changes things up, heading for brighter and more liquidy territory. This one’s got some really impressive break-chopping; time and effort have clearly been spent on getting the drums just right, and it shines through. Slightly mellower business than the previous Chroma releases but no less enjoyable – check out the clips below and grab this one exclusively at Beatport now – full release following in a couple of weeks.

ArpXP – Seems Like [Absys Records]

29 10 2014

Absys Records present their seventh vinyl release featuring new beats from ArpXP, Glyph and Gremlinz. ArpXP heads for warm, rolling liquid on the A side while the flip sees Glyph and Gremlinz on a militant half-step stomper with plenty of mean bass reverberations and creepy pads. The Belgian duo also turn in a cheeky digital freebie with more menacing bass and some nasty amen chop ups; dark business. Check out the clips below and grab this one from your favourite store now!

Boston – Go With Me / The Little Things [Symmetry Recordings]

28 10 2014

Symmetry Recordings welcomes a fresh new talent to the roster with a great release from Cardiff producer Boston. A side Go With Me recruits singer-songwriter Solis for an absolutely mesmerizing deep liquid roller, tinged with sorrow and feeling. The soft vocals and shimmering guitar work on this are outstanding.

Over on the flip The Little Things touches down in jazzier territory, with another rolling break and a plethora of understated guitar and sax work providing the appropriate melodic chops. A fantastic debut release from a young producer who doubtless has tons more to offer! Check out the clips below and grab this on digital from Monday October 27th.

Basis – Graveyard EP [Icarus Audio]

28 10 2014

US label Icarus Audio drop their 13th release from new collaborative project Basis. Featuring the talents of four Cardiff producers, their debut release is a fearsome statement of intent; showing a talent for dancefloor worthy but still musical D&B.

Hold On Tight opens the EP with a deep yet heavy hitting combo of beats and bass and the melancholy vocal talents of Wednesday Amelia. Demon Rocker switches things up, taking the sound in a crisp, minimal direction with a hint of ragga flavour from the vocals of Flinty Badman. The titular Graveyard serves up a similar vibe, with punchy drums and dark, filtered bass alongside more ominous vocals and sorrowful strings. Last but not least, Submerged closes the EP with a hefty riddim and some judicious amen chopping.

Basis seem destined for big things based on this EP! Check out the clips below and grab the release on vinyl or digital from your favourite outlet now.

Sabre – Yoga [Plasma Collaborative]

27 10 2014

Melbourne’s Plasma Collaborative imprint return after a fairly lengthy hiatus with their second release, keeping the quality high and the beats innovative. A-side Yoga sees Sabre exploring the hip-hopy halftime sound with creepy bleeped up melodies and dark, grimey bass. Plenty of swagger on this one!

The flip comes from Cruel Culture & Keosz, who serve up a weird slice of atmospheric D&B characterised by a hectic and unconventional beat pattern and a fairly busy mix of musical elements. The title of Threat certainly captures the frantic, dangerous vibe of the tune. Check out the clips below and look for this one right now at all good digital stores.