Top Tracks of 2014

31 12 2014

Following our run down of our favourite albums of the year, we felt it was only right to put the spotlight on our top tracks. These are the ten tunes that haven’t left our record box since their release…

Read the rest of this entry »


Future Beats – The Album [31 Recordings]

12 12 2014

The relaunch of Doc Scott’s 31 Recordings imprint has been the cause for much celebration across the scene, and the label’s output has been absolutely stellar. Rounding off 2014 in style, they’ve unveiled a massive 24 track compilation featuring artists from across the D&B spectrum, and frankly pretty much all of it is excellent.

The huge selection takes in half-time beats from Sinistarr and Ital Tek, future jungle from Moresounds, liquid rollers from Bungle and Calibre, rowdy techstep from SCAR and plenty more besides. Special mentions have to go out to the broody, militant syncopations of House of Lanterns’ Take Control, the ethereal atmospherics of Hidden Turn’s Dream of Tron and the bleepy, atmospheric vibes of Gremlinz Forlorn, but honestly the whole LP is of such a high standard that picking favourites is pretty tough. Check out clips of all the tracks below and head over to the 31 Recordings store to preorder the compilation on vinyl or digital now – the release drops on December 15th.

10 Years of Shogun Audio

1 12 2014

Friction’s Shogun Audio are celebrating 10 years in style with a massive bundle of new tunes. The 10 Years compilation features brand new beats alongside remixes of some Shogun classics, and comes in a beautiful six piece vinyl box set.

Dancefloor tech is well represented among the new tracks with beats from Icicle & Prolix, Friction, Joe Ford and Fourward all bringing the hard and nasty vibes. There’s also rolling liquid from LSB and Technimatic, a new genre bender from Rockwell and something a little unusual from Spectrasoul in the form of Ben. On the remix front, Spor’s anthemic Aztec gets a pretty hyperactive rework from Calyx & Teebee, Aliz Perez and Spectrasoul get the liquid refix treatment from Calibre and Etherwood respectively, and Fourward turn in a chunky new mix of Dark Days. Last but by no means least, Total Science & S.P.Y bring us a new VIP of another back catalogue fave – 2010’s Gangsta.

As if all of that wasn’t enough, the set also includes a poster, stickers, 3 CDs and a DVD; the CDs provide the new tracks in digital form, a selection of classics from the Shogun back catalogue and a fresh mix from Friction, while the DVD features a 10 Years documentary. There are only 500 copies of the full bundle available so head over to the Shogun Audio store pronto if you want to bag one, or save your wallet and grab the CD or digital package.

Classic Track: Calibre – Silence

14 08 2014

Today’s classic track is a personal favourite from my vinyl collection, and an often overlooked gem from Calibre’s back catalogue. The B-side to the far more commonly heard Steptoe, Silence is a masterclass in the deep, rolling euphoria that Calibre is so well known for. Crisp breaks, warm bass and a simple but infectious set of chords combine to create an uplifting composition that works again and again. Check it out below and lose yourself in the melodies.


Klute – My Black & White (Calibre Remix) [Commercial Suicide]

26 03 2014

Commercial Suicide’s release schedule shows no signs of letting up with another essential 12″ following hot on the heels of the recent Dose LP Sampler. The legendary Calibre gets behind the controls for a rolling liquid refix of My Black & White in the mould of his previous remixes for Spectrasoul and TEED; this one hits the spot in the same way his productions always do.

Over on the flip CS boss man Klute dishes up the fresh (and oddly titled) Speak No Fish. Soaring melodic bleeps lead the tune over a backbone of techno-esque rhythmic sub bass and a sturdy, rolling break. This is definitely a tune with enough bounce for a dancefloor but enough beauty for the living room. Check out both tunes below and watch out for the release dropping on vinyl and digital from March 31st.

Calibre – Shelflife 3 [Signature]

25 03 2014

The arrival of a new Calibre album is always a special moment, and the unexpected release of Shelflife 3 proved no less so than with previous efforts from the legendarily quiet producer. Despite being made up of the “off cuts” from Calibre’s various hard drives over the past few years, the tracks on show here are full of the soul and depth we’ve come to associate with his work over the last decade, and exemplify his “less is more” approach.

Much of the work is far from revolutionary, with tracks like Miraculous and Honey Dew providing classic piano-led rollers while Make Me Feel Alright and Fear of Letting Go hit all the usual soulful notes. There are a few surprises though, like the menacing bass swells of Instant and Off Key, the odd tones of Rooftops and the orchestral sampling of amen workout To And Fro.

Overall Shelflife 3 is a great selection of tracks, and a great addition to anyone’s record collection. Head on over to Surus to grab it on CD, LP or Digital and keep an eye on the newly established Signature Facebook page for more news from the world of Calibre.


Break – Symmetry Sessions Vol. 1 [Symmetry]

4 03 2014

Break returns with the latest release on his Symmetry imprint featuring a quality selection covering all the styles of D&B. Calibre turns in two different remixes of They’re Wrong in his signature smooth liquid style, and DLR gets in the studio with break on the mighty tech destroyer New Design.

Elsewhere NC-17 & KC dish in another big bad slice of tech with the positively militant Slimeville and Break explores his deeper side on jazzy D&B stepper Wondering Why and dubby downtempo outing Dem Babylon. Overall it’s another essential release from one of the best labels in the scene! Check out the beats below and grab your copy on vinyl or digital now.